Southern Chicken Salad

Standard

Southern Chicken Salad

I know what you are thinking, and no, none of the ingredients are fried. 🙂 This is actually a recipe I came up with through trial and error. You can substitute the dried cranberries with diced apples or grapes. I am also including directions on how I prepare the chicken. You can always use rotisserie chicken or prepare the chicken how you usually would.

20120726-112507.jpg

2 lbs skinless chicken tenders, cooked & diced (separate cooking directions below)
4-5 celery ribs, chopped
1/2 cup sweet relish, drained well
2-3 T mayo, Hellman’s
1-2 T Ken’s honey mustard dressing
1 1/2 cups dried cranberries
Salt and pepper to taste
Poppy seeds to sprinkle on top (just makes it look nice!)

Mix ingredients together and taste… add more of above if needed. I usually serve with a wrap, croissants, or crackers. Enjoy!

20120726-112518.jpg

20120726-112534.jpg

Chicken directions:

I’ve tried cooking chicken for this recipe a bunch of different ways and have found this way is my favorite and pretty easy. It always comes out moist and cooked perfectly for this type of recipe. I usually cook the chicken the day before or the morning of when I need it.

2 lbs chicken tenders (I love the Kirkland Signature brand from Costco)
I packet Herb-ox sodium free beef bouillon powder
Water to cover chicken

This is kind of a modified braised method as I don’t brown the chicken beforehand. Place chicken in medium to large sauce pan and add water so that it just covers the chicken. Add the beef bouillon and mix a little with a fork. Turn on to high and bring water to a rolling boil. Then, cover and turn heat to low. Cook on low heat for about 45 minutes. Let cool and store overnight or to use later.

Leave a Reply

